Architecture

A magical and timeless place

One of the oldest hospitals in Europe! A majestic and authentic architectural ensemble. A rich and original heritage site :  Baroque chapel, cloister, gardens, sick ward, convent… A most enchanting place where cares of soul and body were combined…

 

The cloister

The cloister of the Hospital Notre-Dame à la Rose is characterized by an astonishing architectural unity, knowing that its construction has spread over nearly four centuries. Indeed, the configuration of the current Hospital results from a slow evolution. In the 13th century, the hospital was in the form of an “L”, comprising only the south and east wings. These were built in the architectural style popular at the time, namely Gothic.

It was not until the 16th and 17th centuries that the east and north wings were built, thus closing the central quadrilateral. These two wings also adopted the Gothic style out of sake of harmony. While the monastic or canonical cloisters generally designate the quadrilateral formed by a covered gallery with open arcades on an interior garden, the cloister of Lessines has the particularity of being surrounded by galleries with closed arcades by stained glass windows. The latter were vandalized by the French revolutionaries.

The pinnacle

After the French Revolution, the Hospital was renamed “Hospice Civil Notre-Dame à la Rose”. The secularization of the old hospitals is on its way. However, anti-clerical measures do not stop at a change of name of institutions. The instruments of worship are suppressed in the majority of the hospitals. The crosses and the bells disappear, the chapels are disused and the liturgical ornaments resold.

A document from the archives delivers a funny testimony. When the Administrative Commission for Civil Hospitals ordered a person to remove all the religious symbols from the hospital building, including the cross on the pinnacle, children tried to stop him by blinding him with mirrors.

The farm

Since its foundation, the Hospital Notre-Dame à la Rose has benefited numerous donations of land, grassland, woods and pastures. Thus more than four hundred and fifty hectares, scattered in Hainaut as well as in Flanders and even in Thiérache (France), will belong to the Hospital. Several farms were also part of the estate. They provided food to the community and the sick. The hotel-Dieu of Lessines therefore functioned in autarchy as the monasteries and abbeys of yesteryear.

The current buildings of the farm date back to the 17th century. They were built under the priorate of Sisters Sergeant and Herwecq. They include the old stables and barns as well as a magnificent central pigeonhouse – the importance of farms was often measured by the size of its pigeonhouse. The link between the Hospital and its farm is still materialized today by a bridge crossing the river and ensuring the junction between the two buildings. The last farmer of the Hospital retired in 1990.

The Patient's yard

This courtyard was accessible to patients only from the 19th century onwards. Doctors then recommended patients fresh air. The Patient’s yard is surrounded by several buildings whose history is closely linked to that of the Hospital.

The foundations of the current reception building date back to the origins of the hospital, in the 13th century. It housed a wash house, a care room for soldiers and finally a ward for elderly women. The majestic tree in the middle of this courtyard is a small-leaved lime tree, which was planted in 1880 on the occasion of the fiftieth anniversary of Belgium’s independence.

The cloister and its garden

A cloister is much more than just a simple covered walking galery. The serenity emanating from the cloister and its garden reminds us that this was a place for prayer, meditation and communication for the religious community. It was a secluded space reserved for the sisters. The cloister evokes isolation and detachment but thanks to its garden, it is also in contact with the sky.

This way, the nuns could centre their thoughts on the Kingdom announced by Christ. The nuns started the reconstruction of the cloister around 1530. It was completed around 1710. The construction works took almost 2 centuries but still, a beautiful harmony was reached, both as to style – late Gothic – and as to the materials that were chosen: plastered bricks and white sandstone.

© 2018 Hôpital Notre-Dame à la Rose | Design : Bzzz

Architecture

Un lieu aux mille facettes : magique et hors du temps.

L’un des plus anciens hôpitaux d’Europe ! Un ensemble architectural majestueux et authentique. Un lieu plein d’émotions à découvrir absolument avec ses mille facettes : chapelle baroque, cloître, jardins, salle des malades, couvent…  Un lieu enchanteur incontournable où se conjuguent les  soins de l’âme et les soins du corps…

Le cloître

Le cloître de l’Hôpital Notre-Dame à la Rose se caractérise par une étonnante unité architecturale, sachant que sa construction s’est étalée sur près de quatre siècles. En effet, la configuration de l’Hôpital actuel résulte d’une évolution lente. Au 13e siècle, l’Hôpital se présentait sous la forme d’un « L », ne comprenant que les ailes sud et est actuelles. Celles-ci furent bâties dans le style architectural en vogue à l’époque, à savoir le gothique.

Ce n’est qu’au cours des 16e et 17e siècles que les ailes est et nord furent bâties, fermant ainsi le quadrilatère central. Ces ailes tardives adoptèrent également le style gothique par souci d’harmonie avec les ailes antérieures.
Alors que les cloîtres monastiques ou canoniaux désignent généralement le quadrilatère formé par une galerie couverte à arcades ouvertes sur un jardin intérieur, le cloître lessinois a pour particularité d’être entouré de galeries à arcades fermées par des vitraux. Ces derniers, peut-être historiés à l’origine, furent vandalisés par les révolutionnaires français.

Le clocher

Après la Révolution française, l’Hôpital est rebaptisé « Hospice civil de la Rose ». La laïcisation des anciens hôtels-Dieu est en marche. Pourtant, les mesures anticléricales ne s’arrêtent pas à un changement de nom des
institutions. Les instruments de culte sont supprimés dans la majorité des hôpitaux. Les croix et les cloches disparaissent, les chapelles sont désaffectées et les ornements liturgiques revendus.

Un document issu des archives livre un témoignage cocasse. Lorsque la Commission administrative des hospices civils mandata une personne pour retirer tous les symboles religieux du bâtiment de l’Hôpital, dont la croix sur le clocheton, des enfants tentèrent de l’en empêcher en l’aveuglant à l’aide de miroirs.

La ferme

Dès sa fondation, l’Hôpital Notre-Dame à la Rose a bénéficié de nombreuses donations de terres labourables, prairies, bois et pâtures. C’est ainsi que plus de quatre cent cinquante hectares, disséminés tant en Hainaut qu’en Flandre et même en Thiérache, appartiendront à l’Hôpital. Plusieurs fermes faisaient également partie du domaine. Elles fournissaient denrées et nourriture à la communauté et aux malades. L’hôtel-Dieu lessinois fonctionnait donc en autarcie comme les monastères et abbayes d’autrefois.

Les actuels bâtiments de la ferme datent du 17e siècle. Ils furent construits sous les priorats des sœurs Sergeant et Herwecq. Ils comprennent les anciennes étables et écuries ainsi que le magnifique pigeonnier central ‒ l’importance des fermes de jadis se mesurait, entre autres, à la majesté de leur colombier. Le lien qui unit l’Hôpital à sa ferme est encore matérialisé aujourd’hui par la passerelle qui enjambe la Dendre et qui assure la jonction
entre les deux bâtiments. Le dernier fermier de l’Hôpital a pris sa retraite en 1990.

La cour des malades

Cette cour ne fut accessible aux malades qu’à partir du 19e siècle. Les médecins recommandaient alors aux patients de prendre l’air lorsque leur santé le leur permettait. La cour des malades est ceinturée de plusieurs bâtiments dont l’histoire est étroitement liée à celle de l’Hôpital.

Certaines fondations du hall d’accueil actuel remontent aux origines de l’Hôpital, au 13e siècle, qui abrita tantôt un lavoir, une salle de soins pour soldats et finalement un « hospice pour vieilles femmes ». L’arbre majestueux situé au milieu de cette cour est un tilleul à petites feuilles, qui fut planté en 1880 à l’occasion du cinquantenaire de l’indépendance de la Belgique.

Le jardin intérieur

La fonction du cloître ne se restreint pas à une simple galerie de circulation. La sérénité qui se dégage tant du cloître que de son jardin rappelle que cet espace a été conçu comme un lieu de prière, de méditation et de  communication pour la communauté des religieuses. Cet espace de clôture réservé aux soeurs ‒ le public n’avait accès qu’à la chapelle et à la salle des étrangers ‒ évoque l’isolement, le renoncement mais aussi, grâce à son jardin intérieur, l’ouverture vers le ciel.

La religieuse est ainsi tournée vers le Royaume annoncé par le Christ. Les religieuses ont entamé la reconstruction du cloître vers 1530 et celle-ci ne fut achevée que vers 1710. Près de deux siècles
de travaux… et pourtant une belle harmonie tant au niveau du style (gothique tardif) que des matériaux choisis (briques enduites et pierres de grès blanches).

© 2018 Hôpital Notre-Dame à la Rose | Design : Bzzz