Discover

Discover 4 atmospheres

Architecture

A magical and timeless place One of the oldest hospitals in Europe! A majestic and authentic architectural ensemble. A rich and original heritage site :  Baroque chapel, cloister, gardens, sick ward, convent… A most enchanting place where cares of soul and body were combined…   The cloister The cloister of the Hospital Notre-Dame à la [...]

Art collection

The originality and interest of the collections of the Hospital Notre-Dame à la Rose lies in their variety and quality. Indeed, they illustrate many areas of the history of art and science. Moreover, they are preserved in situ and contribute very largely to recreate an atmosphere, peculiar to this place where time seems to have [...]

Medical and pharmaceutical collections

The Hospital Notre-Dame a la Rose houses a beautiful collection of medical and pharmaceutical objects. This collection is partly original but some acquisitions were added in recent years. Initially, the hospital is a charitable institution, as indicated by the etymological origin of its name (hospitality). The works of mercy are practiced in the name of [...]

Gardens

The medicinal herb garden : for food, care and ornament The garden of medicinal plants, with its well aligned cultures, is built according to the model of the Herbularius. It is one of the three components of the medieval garden, with Hortus (vegetable garden) and Viridarium (orchard). At the end of the 8th century already, [...]

One of the oldest European hospitals !

When Alix de Rosoit founded this hospital by establishing a religious community there, her intention was twofold : to provide for prayer for the eternel rest of the soul of her husband, Anould IV of Oudenaarde, and to do an act of charity by welcoming “the sick whose health is such that they are unable to go and beg from door to door… ».

© 2018 Hôpital Notre-Dame à la Rose | Design : Bzzz

Découvrir

4 univers à découvrir

Architecture

Un lieu aux mille facettes : magique et hors du temps. L’un des plus anciens hôpitaux d’Europe ! Un ensemble architectural majestueux et authentique. Un lieu plein d’émotions à découvrir absolument avec ses mille facettes : chapelle baroque, cloître, jardins, salle des malades, couvent…  Un lieu enchanteur incontournable où se conjuguent les  soins de l’âme et [...]

Art

L’originalité et l’intérêt des collections de l’Hôpital Notre-Dame à la Rose résident dans leur variété et leur qualité. En effet, elles illustrent de nombreux domaines de l’histoire de l’art et de l’histoire des sciences. De plus, elles sont conservées in situ et contribuent très largement à recréer une atmosphère, une vie propre à ce lieu [...]

Médecine et pharmacie

L’Hôpital Notre-Dame à la Rose héberge une très belle collection d’objets médicaux et pharmaceutiques. Il s’agit en partie de fonds propres mais également d’acquisitions effectuées au cours des dernières années. Au départ, l’Hôpital est une institution caritative, comme l’indique l’origine étymologique de son nom (hospitalité). On y pratique les œuvres de miséricorde au nom de [...]

Botanique

L’Hôpital Notre-Dame à la Rose abrite aujourd'hui un magnifique jardin de plantes médicinales où il fait bon se promener. Mieux encore, si vous êtes intéressés par les plantes et leurs bienfaits sur la santé, la beauté et le bien-être, vous y trouverez des panneaux didactiques (et leur livret à emporter) qui, pour chaque plante, vous [...]

L’un des plus anciens hôpitaux d’Europe !

Lorsqu’Alix de Rosoit fonda cet hôpital en y établissant une communauté religieuse, son intention était double : y assurer la prière pour le repos de l’âme de son mari, Arnould d’Oudenaarde, et y faire oeuvre de charité en accueillant « les malades dont la santé est telle qu’ils ne puissent aller mendier de porte en porte… ».

© 2018 Hôpital Notre-Dame à la Rose | Design : Bzzz