History

La foundation

Armoiries

Alix Rosoit and Arnould IV Oudenaarde are prominent figures in the 13th century and they leave important traces in the region: the hospital and the ramparts in Lessines (there still is a tower along the Dender, near the hospital, while another tower and a walkway are visible behind the new post office), in Oudenaarde on the right bank of the Schelde, opposite St. Walburga, the small church Our Lady of Pamele, jewel of the transition from Romanesque to Gothic.

Lord Arnold IV, over 60 years of age in 1242, was probably hoping for a peaceful end to his life. The King Louis IX of France, at war against King Henry III of England, took advantage of the treaty of allegiance signed earlier by the Flemish lords to call for help. Arnold IV was thus forced to return to war despite his age. He took care to draw up his will and to include a provision in it on behalf of the poor: the rich and powerful were in the habit of providing for a substantial donation of money to be distributed to the poor on the day of their funeral, in the hope of redeeming their sins and entering paradise.

Wounded at the Battle of Taillebourg near Poitiers, in 1242, Arnold died a few weeks later. His wife Alice, inheriting a considerable fortune, would undertake to fulfil her husband’s last wishes. Rather than distributing the money, she probably had the idea of “investing” in founding a hospital for the poor.

The Hospital mouvement

The hospital of Lessines is contemporary of the whole hospital movement which developed in Europe in the 12th and 13th centuries. As a matter of fact, many hospitals were created, at the end of the 12th century, in the earldoms of Flandres and Hainaut. The St. John’s Hospital in Bruges, founded around 1180, was one of the first, one of the most famous and one of the best preserved. The hospitals of St. John of Damme, the Hospice Comtesse of Lille, Our Lady of the Bijloke in Ghent, the hospitals of Tournai and Brussels etc. are also worth mentioning. The Hospices of Beaune were founded only much later, in the middle of 15th century.

These hospitals were intended to accommodate the poor indigent patients, the needy of society. At the time, populations in the towns, sheltered within the circle of ramparts, were experiencing substantial demographic growth. Yet there was no form of social security, the small craftsmen of tradespeople who got sick very quickly lost their livelihoods and risked being left on the street, forced to beg to survive.

This social situation soon posed problems for the city governors who attempted to solve the problem by creating hospitals. Those institutions received whoever was unable to pay for “private medicine” at home, reserved for nobility and middle classes.

Our hospital therefore emerged in a period when Lessines was triving, having experienced a certain amount of development since the 12th century. The cloth industry was booming and trade was expanding owing to the building of a convered market and especially on account of the Dendre, the river which flows under the hospital and which enables cloth and other products to be transported abroad.

Nonetheless, that development and the increase in population in Lessines were going to foster the outbreak of diseases and epidemics. Since the leper quarters and the Beguine convent were insufficient to cater for the needs or the poor, it became necessary to open a hospital shelter.

The oldest document in the hospital records is a charter (June 1243) of John d’Oudenaarde (son of Alix and Arnould) allocationg 100 pounds of annual income to the hospital, a considerable amount to be taken from the estates of Maubeuge an Feignies belonging to Alix. The institution of the hospital is certanly prior to that.

The community

As in many hospitals, the religious community of Lessines follows the rule of St. Augustine. This rule, flexible and well adapted to the hospitable life, insists mainly on the principle of charity, but also on obedience to the bishop. It is Guy de Laon, at the head of the bishopric of Cambrai, which, in July 1247, gives the Hospital its first statutes. Then completed by Nicolas de Fontaines in 1261, these rules organized the entire spiritual and daily life of the community in a precise way: the meal schedule, the reception of the poor and sick, the dress code, the instruction of the novices, the possibilities of exits and the regulations of the faults and punishments.

If these women devoted a large part of their day to the care of the sick and therefore to very “temporal” tasks, the fact remains that they had a very rich spiritual life, as evidenced by many artistic works sometimes unusual in their iconography, but quite readable as long as they are contextualized.

The archives

The Hospital Notre-Dame a la Rose of Lessines has an invaluable archive that dates back to its founding in the 13th century. It contains many important pieces: papal bulls, cartulas, rules and statutes of the institution, chirographs, charters, etc. Throughout its history, the hotel Dieu has produced numerous documents. Multiple account books, litigation files or patient records – which may seem prima facie less valuable – are inexhaustible sources of information on daily life in the heart of a hospital-based convent. These archives provide valuable information concerning, in particular, the land properties of the hospital, certain phases of construction and expansion of the site and the nuns who took care of the poor patients. Although historians have already looked at pieces of this collection and found some very interesting studies, it is certain that these archives have not yet revealed all their secrets.

In addition to the archives, the Sisters’ Library provides a better understanding of the lives of the Hospital nuns and the spiritual and literary influences that marked this community. We must not be mistaken, reading was not the prerogative of all. The books were the property of the convent and, before the teaching became general, only the nuns and priests were able to use them. The oldest works date back to the 16th century and the most recent ones were published in the second half of the 20th century. Most of these books are of a religious nature and are written in Latin or French. Although it is a hospital community, only a limited number of books on medical or medicinal topics are kept. Indeed, during the Ancien Regime, the sisters practiced only very limited medical gestures and their knowledge of this art was mainly derived from the experience gained within the community. “Bookish” knowledge counted for very little.

© 2018 Hôpital Notre-Dame à la Rose | Design : Bzzz

Histoire

La fondation

Armoiries

Alix de Rosoit et Arnould IV d’Oudenaarde sont des personnages éminents au 13e siècle et ils laissent dans la région des traces importantes: à Lessines, l’hôpital et la ceinture de remparts (dont il reste une tour le long de la Dendre, près de l’hôpital, tandis qu’une autre tour et un chemin de ronde sont visibles à l’arrière du nouvel hôtel des postes) ; à Oudenaarde, sur la rive droite de l’Escaut, face à Sainte-Walburge, la petite église Notre-Dame de Pamele, joyau de la transition du roman au gothique.

Agé de plus de 60 ans en 1242, le seigneur Arnould IV espérait sans doute terminer sa vie en paix. Mais le roi de France Louis IX, en guerre contre le roi d’Angleterre Henri III, profita du traité d’allégeance signé plus tôt par les seigneurs flamands pour les appeler à l’aide. Arnould IV fut donc contraint de repartir à la guerre malgré son âge. Il prit soin de rédiger son testament et d’y inclure une disposition en faveur des pauvres : dans l’espoir de racheter leurs fautes et d’accéder au paradis, riches et puissants avaient coutume de prévoir un important don d’argent à distribuer aux pauvres le jour de leurs funérailles.

Blessé à la bataille de Taillebourg près de Poitiers, en 1242, Arnould décède quelques semaines plus tard. Son épouse Alix, héritant d’une fortune considérable, se chargera de réaliser les dernières volontés de son mari. Plutôt que de distribuer l’argent, sans doute eut-elle l’idée d' »investir » dans la fondation d’un hôpital pour les pauvres.

Le mouvement hospitalier

L’hôtel-Dieu lessinois est contemporain de tout le mouvement hospitalier qui se développa en Europe aux 12e et 13e siècles. A la fin du 12e, en effet, on assiste, dans les comtés de Flandre et de Hainaut, à la création de nombreux hôpitaux. L’hôpital Saint-Jean de Bruges, fondé vers 1180, fut l’un des premiers, l’un des plus célèbres et l’un des mieux conservés. On citera aussi les hôpitaux Saint-Jean de Damme, l’hospice Comtesse de Lille, Notre-Dame de la Bijloke à Gand, les hôpitaux de Tournai et de Bruxelles… Les hospices de Beaune ne furent fondés que beaucoup plus tard, au milieu du 15e siècle.

Ces hôpitaux étaient destinés à accueillir les pauvres malades indigents, les laissés-pour-compte de la société. A l’époque, à l’abri des ceintures de remparts, les populations des villes connaissaient une croissance démographique importante. Mais il n’existait aucune forme de sécurité sociale; les petits artisans ou commerçants qui tombaient malades perdaient très vite leur gagne-pain et risquaient de se retrouver à la rue, obligés de mendier pour survivre.

Cette situation sociale posa rapidement des problèmes aux gouvernants des cités qui tentèrent de les résoudre en créant des hôpitaux. Ces institutions accueilleront ceux qui ne peuvent se payer une « médecine privée » à domicile, réservée aux nobles et aux bourgeois.

Notre hôpital fit donc son apparition à une époque de prospérité pour Lessines, qui connaissait un certain développement depuis le 12e siècle. L’industrie drapière était en pleine expansion et le commerce se développait grâce à la construction de Halles et surtout grâce à la Dendre, la rivière qui passe sous l’hôpital et qui permet d’acheminer des draps et autres produits vers l’étranger.

Mais ce développement et l’accroissement de la population à Lessines allaient favoriser l’apparition de maladies et d’épidémies. L’hôtellerie pour lépreux et le béguinage n’étant plus suffisants pour subvenir aux besoins des indigents, l’ouverture d’un asile hospitalier devint une nécessité.

Le plus ancien document des archives de l’hôpital est une charte (juin 1243) de Jean d’Oudenaarde (fils de Alix et Arnould) attribuant 100 livres de revenus annuels à l’hôpital, somme considérable à prendre sur les domaines de Maubeuge et Feignies appartenant à Alix. L’institution de l’hôpital est certainement antérieure.

La communauté religieuse

Comme dans de nombreux hôpitaux, la communauté religieuse de Lessines suit la règle de saint Augustin. Cette règle, souple et bien adaptée à la vie hospitalière, insiste principalement sur le principe de charité, mais aussi sur l’obéissance à l’évêque. C’est Guy de Laon, à la tête de l’évêché de Cambrai, qui, en juillet 1247, donne à l’Hôpital ses premiers statuts. Complétées ensuite par Nicolas de Fontaines, en 1261, ces règles organisaient toute la vie spirituelle et quotidienne de la communauté de manière précise : l’horaire des repas, l’accueil des pauvres et malades, la tenue vestimentaire, l’instruction des novices, les possibilités de sorties et les règlements des fautes et punitions.

Si ces femmes consacraient une grande partie de leur journée au soin des malades et donc à des besognes très « temporelles », il n’en demeure pas moins qu’elles avaient une vie spirituelle très riche, comme en témoignent de nombreuses oeuvres artistiques parfois insolites dans leur iconographie, mais tout à fait lisibles pour peu qu’on les contextualise.

Le fonds d'archives

L’Hôpital Notre-Dame à la Rose de Lessines possède un inestimable fonds d’archives qui remonte à sa fondation, au 13e siècle. Celui-ci recèle de nombreuses pièces importantes : bulles papales, cartulaires, règles et statuts de  l’institution, chirographes, chartes, etc. Tout au long de son histoire, l’hôtel-Dieu a produit de nombreux documents. Les multiples minutes, livres de comptes, dossiers de contentieux ou registres des malades ‒ qui peuvent sembler à première vue de moindre valeur ‒ sont des sources inépuisables de renseignements sur la vie au quotidien au cœur d’un couvent à vocation hospitalière. Ces archives fournissent de précieuses informations concernant notamment les propriétés foncières de l’Hôpital, certaines phases de travaux et d’agrandissement du site et les religieuses qui se sont occupées des pauvres malades. Bien que des historiens se soient déjà penchés sur certaines pièces de ce fonds et en aient dégagé des études très intéressantes, il est certain que ces archives n’ont pas encore révélé tous leurs secrets.

Outre les archives, la bibliothèque des sœurs permet de connaître et comprendre mieux la vie des religieuses de l’Hôpital et les influences spirituelles et littéraires qui marquèrent cette communauté. Car il ne faut pas s’y tromper, la lecture n’était pas jadis l’apanage de tous. Les livres étaient la propriété du couvent et, avant que l’enseignement ne se généralise, seuls les religieuses et les prêtres étaient capables de s’en servir. Les plus anciens ouvrages remontent au 16e siècle et les plus récents ont été publiés dans la seconde partie du 20e. La plupart de ces livres sont de nature religieuse et sont rédigés en latin ou en français. Bien qu’il s’agisse d’une communauté  hospitalière, seul un nombre limité d’ouvrages portant sur les thématiques médicales ou médicinales sont conservés. En effet, durant l’Ancien Régime, les sœurs ne pratiquaient que des gestes médicaux très limités et leurs connaissances de cet art étaient principalement issues de l’expérience acquise au sein de la communauté. Les connaissances « livresques » comptaient pour fort peu.

© 2018 Hôpital Notre-Dame à la Rose | Design : Bzzz